Stone and the hamlet of Stone Cum Ebony form one of two parishes on the area known as the Isle of Oxney, a former island that until 17th century had the river Rother flowing north of the island until it silted up.
Stone -cum- Ebony is a large and mostly marshland parish situated about (8 miles) from Ashford, (7 miles) Tenterden, (5 miles) Rye, and includes the village of Stone in Oxney and the hamlet of Stone. An area of Outstanding Natural Beauty which enjoys far reaching views over the surrounding farmland and the Military canal. The 15th Century Church of St. Mary the Virgin https://stoneinoxneychurch.org is described as an elegant and complete church occupying a picturesque spot on rising ground. The church has a 14 feet square tower that is 62 feet in height. The architecture is of the perpendicular period. Roads to this area show a diverse collection of properties from small cottages and Kentish oast-houses to stunning farmhouses and detached mansions. One famous actor Sir Donald Sinden resided in the area for many years with his wife and family before his death in September 2014.
Travelling in the direction of Appledore you will come to a wonderful gastro pub surrounded by fields, water, and a property or two, it’s called the Ferry which has a delightful restaurant, and gardens to while away the day watching the heron, or the odd helicopter arrive: The Ferry was originally a Free House, once owned by the Deedes family from Saltwood Castle (Bill Deedes MP’s ancestors). It was purchased by Edwin Finn brewery (Lydd) and leased by them to Style and Winch (Maidstone) who later purchased it from them. Courage Barclay Simmonds, later ‘Courage’ bought out Style and Winch, in 1953. It was sold by Courage as a Free House, which it still is today. https://www.oxneyferry.com